Cube Lube

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by hookershorde

Image

October 24th, 2012 – Cube Lube

 

“Is it okay if I bring a bottle of silicone spray to school tomorrow,” asked one of my brightest, most capable and articulate students in fourth period today.

 

I looked puzzled and nodded.

 

She continued, “It’s highly flammable so we’ll need to keep it in your room.”

That’s when I closed my eyes, shook my head, and wondered, “did she just say that?”

The dismissal bell had rung.  Thirty-five students were filtering out the single door into the hallway.  Six students lingered around my desk to ask questions.

 

I held up a finger to five of them and said, “hold, please.” 

 

Then, I turned to the 14-year-old asking to bring highly flammable, possibly explosive silicone spray and asked, “Why?”

“I need to lube their cubes and I don’t want to bring in my good lube,” she explained.

 

“All right,” I said because I trust this girl.  She’s clever.  She’s witty.  She’s articulate.  And, she’s driven.

 

Watching her sister apply for colleges, she realized, as a ninth grader, that colleges prefer to accept students who DO things, like start clubs.  Therefore, she approached me a few weeks ago and asked if I’d sponsor the “Cubing Club.” 

 

Like parents, teachers aren’t supposed to have favorites, but she’s one of mine.  I knew sponsoring the Cubing Club really meant, “May we use your room and will you be the ‘adult’ in charge?”  So, I agreed.

 

In a few short weeks, she built the membership to over a dozen, ordered speed cubes and taught students how to solve them.

 

I had a Rubix cube when I was in junior high.   In fact, it’s still in the game cupboard at my mom’s house. 

 

But, because of this girl, an assortment of eighth grade boys are walking around with cubes in our school. 

Until today, I didn’t know about Cube Lube.

Tomorrow, my classroom will house flammable silicone spray so the cubes can be lubed.

 

I have the best job EVER.

Leave a Reply

