November 5th, 2012 — Thumbs Up at the Light

Leave a comment

November 5, 2012 by hookershorde

November 5th, 2012 – Thumbs Up at the Light

The Ailey II Dance Company performed at the Eccles Center in Park City last Friday night.  Programmed by the Park City Performing Arts Foundation, my students and I received complimentary tickets in the front rows.

I squeezed into a leopard print dress I bought five years ago when I was about fifteen pounds lighter, picked up my Kate Spade purse and climbed into my minty blue Honda Element. 

Only seven miles from my house, it takes about ten minutes to drive to the Eccles Center.  Turning onto Highway 224, the first light I reach is a long one.  But, because I wanted to check my makeup, I didn’t mind that I pulled up just as it was turning red.

Instead of using the mirror on my visor, I tilted the rearview mirror toward me, wiped the corners of my mouth to clear off any clumped lipstick and checked my eye shadow to see if I blended it enough.

Then, I looked to my right.  A brick red Ford Explorer pulled up next to me.  The twenty-something driving it smiled, nodded, and gave me thumbs up.

She didn’t have to. 

But, because she did, I felt like a super model.  I rolled my window down.  She rolled hers down. 

“Thank you.  You made my night.”

She just smiled.

For the rest of the evening, I didn’t feel self-conscious.  I felt pretty.  I felt bright.

 

I teach 14-year-olds.  I shared the story of what happened at the light with my students.

Really.  For the girl in the SUV, it took so little effort, but it made such a big difference. 

I am going to give more compliments.  They cost nothing, but they are worth everything.

Leave a Reply

