November 10th, 2012 — When Living Alone is Inconvenient

Leave a comment

November 10, 2012 by hookershorde

November 10th, 2012 – When Living Alone is Inconvenient

 

As a singleton, many luxuries are afforded to me. 

 

I can leave the lamp next to my bed on late into the night while I read.

I control the clicker.  I can watch Bill Maher, House Hunters, re-runs of Trading Spouses, Scandal, The Voice, Newsroom and True Blood whenever I want.

 

If I want to have peanut butter on crackers for dinner, I can.  And, I can do it while standing up in my kitchen.

 

If I don’t fold the laundry when it comes out of the washing machine, no one minds.

 

At 2:30 pm on a Saturday, I can drink eggnog in one of the Waterford Crystal glasses William Devane gave me the year The AT &T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am was cancelled.  That was 1996 for those who don’t remember.

 

My dogs can snore on the sofa.

 

BUT . . .

 

Every now and then I am reminded that living alone can be challenging, too.

 

On Thursday, I pulled up my big girl pantyhose, with the control top, and slipped into a sheik little gray dress I purchased a few years ago.  At 6:30 am, I couldn’t reach to zip up my back.  None of the dogs offered to help.  After grunts, groans and worry about splitting a seam, I finally zipped myself into it. 

 

Last Tuesday, while watching the election results, I swallowed my Sauvignon Blanc in a most unpleasant way.  It went down the wrong pipe, tube or whatever.  I wondered, if I choke to death on the sofa, when will someone find me?

 

All household chores are my responsibility.  I take out the trash.  I move the patio furniture to the garage.  I make sure the snow blower has a cocktail of oil and gas mixed.  I feed the dogs.  I walk the dogs.  I do the laundry.  I load and empty the dishwasher. 

I’m not sure which I prefer — living alone or with a partner.  I’m not sure if the benefits of being zipped outweigh the luxuries.

Leave a Reply

