November 6th, 2012 – Polarizing

Leave a comment

November 10, 2012 by hookershorde

November 6th, 2012 – Polarizing

 

On Sunday, the next great love of my life, a man I should’ve fallen for nine years ago, told me, “One of the most beautiful things about you, is also the most difficult.  You are strong.  You make a difference.  You are polarizing.” 

I laughed.  I laughed because even at 42, I can’t accept a compliment.  I laughed because he was sincere.  He meant what he said.

 

“Everyone,” he continued, “has an opinion about you.  There’s no middle ground.  People either love you, or they don’t.”

 

He’s right.

 

po-lar-ize:  divide or cause to divide into two sharply contrasting groups or sets of opinions or belief

 

To be clear, I’m a Democrat.

 

Polls opened for early voting on Tuesday, October 23rd.  After teaching all day, I walked the dogs, and then went to my polling place.

 

I voted to move forward with my President, Barack Obama. 

 

I voted for Senator Orrin Hatch, a Republican. 

 

Locally, I voted for and supported Republican candidates.   I was, promptly, threatened and chastised by a democratic candidate for the school board.  The mean-spirited, vicious and threatening rhetoric from my local Democratic party has been hurtful and demoralizing.

 

My demoralization led to my polarization.

 

I hope he’s right. 

 

I hope that, while I may evoke strong opinions, I do make a difference. 

Leave a Reply

