November 18th–It’s Not Easy Being Purple

Leave a comment

November 18, 2012 by hookershorde

Image

November 18th, 2012 – It’s Not That Easy Being Purple

 

Do you remember when Kermit sang, “It’s Not Easy Bein’ Green?”  I do.  You see, “it blends in with so many other things.”

Purple.

Purple is the color that represents domestic violence awareness.

 

On Friday, my students and I visited the office of The Peace House, our local women’s shelter, for a purple party.  To introduce their services and organization, they put together a party filled with purple food and banana-grams.

 

We all wore purple for our peace march from school.

 

However, that morning, as I dressed, I realized that I was a victim. 

 

victim |ˈviktəm|

noun

a person harmed, injured, or killed as a result of a crime, accident, or other event or action.

 

The word “victim” sounds ugly.  It sounds small.  It sounds weak.

 

I don’t feel ugly, small or weak.

 

But, when I was married to the MIM (misadventure in marriage), his father moved into our home.  While the MIM, also a BONA (balding obese narcissistic alcoholic) drank under the giant oak tree in the backyard, his father reminded me that in the eyes of his Catholic God, the MIM and his first wife were still married.

 

I knew better than to use intellect with Mr. Baker. 

 

So, I simply said, “Oh, as I recall from reading the scriptures, Jesus only gave us one rule.  He said, ‘love one another.’”

 

That’s when the MIM’s father pushed me.  Hard.

Leave a Reply

