November 26th — Teaching and Learning: Lessons from THE VOICE

Leave a comment

November 26, 2012 by hookershorde

Image

November 26th, 2012 – Teaching and Learning on THE VOICE

 

Cee Lo Green, Adam Levine and Blake Shelton get it.  Week after week, as new artists take the stage, they celebrate the good in each performance.

 

It’s refreshing. 

 

The Voice, a pop culture/reality show, reminds me, a junior high school teacher, how to teach. 

 

Years ago, when I earned my M.Ed., a professor told me, “You can always find something right with every student.  Focus on what’s right and the rest will fall into place.”

 

He was right. 

 

I can always find something good in everyone and every situation.  Sometimes, it’s as simple as, “I really like the way the bottom of that letter touches the bottom of that line.”  Other times, it’s “WOW!  Thank you for bringing that to my attention.”  Or, “What an awesome idea!”

 

In class, when I want everyone to do something like sit still, I’ll compliment those that are doing what I want.   Pretty soon, everyone steps up, manages his/her behavior or completes the assignment.  I didn’t harp.  I didn’t nag.  I didn’t beg.  I celebrated what was right.

 

Instead of picking people and performances apart to make them smaller, Blake, Adam and Cee Lo build on the positives.

 

It’s how we should teach.

 

It’s how we should treat each other.

Leave a Reply

