December 31st, 2012: What I “Need” for 2013

Leave a comment

December 31, 2012 by hookershorde

December 31st, 2012 – What I “Need” for 2013Image

 

need (verb):  require (something) because it is essential or very important

 

need (noun):  circumstances in which something is necessary

 

need:  Really, I don’t need anything.  I have a warm, safe, dry and comfortable home filled with furry friends.  My icebox is filled.  In fact, there are a dozen fresh eggs from local chickens sitting on the shelf.  I mixed up a giant crockpot of vegetable soup filled with beans, sweet potatoes, garlic, carrots, and onions.  The colander on the counter holds fresh grapefruits and oranges.   Rolls and rolls of toilet paper are stacked under the sinks in the bathrooms.  There’s plenty of soap, laundry detergent, and vinegar for cleaning.  In the garage, the snow blower is ready to blow.  The dog-friendly Honda Element has plenty of gas.  Tupperware bins are filled with dog kibble and marrowbones are scattered throughout the house.  From my HOA dues to AT&T, I prepay all of my bills at the beginning of each month.

 

I “need” nothing.

 

But, with higher taxes, a new regime in our local government, no contract for teachers, and the fiscal cliff, 2012 included a certain amount of uncertainty. 

 

Even though I “need” nothing, I feel lost and tossed about.  I feel frazzled.  I feel unsettled.  For the past several months, I’ve been REacting to potential changes. 

While I can’t control the wild waves throttling my school, my community, and my country, I can meet them head-on.

 

Therefore, for 2013, I need a surfboard and a lifejacket.

 

I’ll take my board straight out through the waves.  Then, I’ll turn it around and point the nose toward my shore.  When the next strip of whitewater approaches, I’ll climb on my board and paddle. 

 

It might take a while before I feel confident enough to stand up.  In fact, I may be lying on my belly letting the wave push me all the way to shore.  That’s okay. 

 

For 2013, I need a board, a lifejacket, and the courage to ride it out.

 

(Thank you, Teri Orr, for the inspiration to get a board, a lifejacket, keep my head up and ride it out.)

Leave a Reply

