February 18th, 2013: Messy Messages

Leave a comment

February 18, 2013 by hookershorde

February 18th, 2013 – Make Your Mess Your Message

 

I have a few guilty pleasures that, typically, I don’t admit.

 

  • I watch The Bachelor.
  • I eat OREO cookies with almond milk. 
  • I read People magazine every chance I get.

 

Today, at the nail salon, I perused last week’s issue of People featuring Robin Roberts.  She spent 2012 battling a rare blood disease, myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) and recovering from a bone marrow transplant.

 

Prior to her procedure, Roberts hurried to her mother’s bedside.   Lucimarian Tolliver Roberts told her daughter, “Make your mess your message.”

 

For years I’ve believed that the magic is in the mess.  Life is messy.Image

 

Mrs. Roberts is right.  Our messes should be our message.

 

Each day, I’m inspired by my friends, Vicki and Kevin Whiting who made their mess, the mess of communicating with medical professionals, their message.  My students who, despite missing parents, show up, do the work and dream inspire me.  Facebook friends who day after day cross-post animals who need homes inspire me. 

 

Think about your mess.  What’s the message?

 

Leave a Reply

